Zero to hero

What Prompted me??

I started my third year thinking I should do something that would put me different from the rest and one of my professors suggested me as to why don’t I apply for GSoC. I don’t know why but I took the suggestion rather seriously, thanks to the bet I had with one of my friend(who is about to complete his MBBS) that whoever earns first will buy the other a “RayBan shades”. Well, that’s it. I was determined. I started my research early, probably during the start of February(I knew I want to buy my friend, his shades and also buy mine too, in the process).

What experiences I had before??

I started looking at previous years’ GSoC projects(having had little experience with Open Source)  and started learning how to contribute. I was also very fascinated to the amount of knowledge one could gain just by googling and browsing web pages . I discovered very soon, as to what an immensely great tool , email, through which I could chat with anyone in the open source world and ask seemingly stupid questions and always expect to get a gentle reply back with an answer. Well, that held me spell bound and I knew I want to contribute to Open Source.

How did I begin??

About the middle of March, I discovered that my passion for Python as a programming language increased , after understanding how easy it is as a language. Added to that, my popularity among my fellow classmates increased when I started evangelizing Python(thanks to my seniors for introducing it, I guess I did a decent job popularizing the language). And I started contributing to PSF(Python Software Foundation) , started with a simple bug to fix documentation and slowly my interactivity in IRC increased and I started liking one of the project one of the community member proposed.

A twist in the story??

There I was, still a noob and not knowing how to convince my probable mentor that I could complete the project, given direction. About this juncture, a fellow student(from some university in France) mailed this particular mentor that he was interested in the project . Do, remember, I was part of the mailing list and follow the happenings of it. So, I was furious knowing that I had a competition(having put so much effort) and I was not willing to compromise my project (knowing that this is the one project I actually understood and started researching a little bit too). The other projects require me to have some domain knowledge. I went back to my teachers, seniors, friends and Google and started asking the question , “how would i solve the problem the mentor posted?” . I framed a couple of answers, though very noobish , but at least I could reply the email thread posting my understanding of the problem and how I would solve it and also ask various questions I had in my mind. Well, the mentor replied, immediately to my surprise, and responded back with comments as well as answers to the questions I posed. Again, my nemesis/competitor replied back(he having good knowledge about the problem domain). I knew it was not going to be easy. Hence, I went back again, through all my sources, made further understanding of the problem and posted back again. I guess, about 20 mails in the thread , till we(all three of us) decided we should catch up in IRC and discuss more.

The conclusion:

Well, at IRC , most of senior members from the community were present, and they suggested that they should probably extend the scope of the project(since two students were interested in one project and showed immense passion). Unsurprisingly, over multiple meetings, the project scope was expanded, both the students were given equal important but independent tasks and both the students got opportunity to say they are Google Summer of Code students. Thank goodness, we decided to built the project from scratch giving us more than enough work on our plate.

Movie titles:

1) In the open source world, there is no competition , it is only “COLLABORATION“.

2) Why give up, when you can win??

3) From Zero to Hero!!

4) A prodigy in making

p.s. I still owe my friend his shades . *sshole, I am still waiting for him to visit me so that I can buy him his  shades and buy mine too.  Also, I know its been two years since the story happened, but it is never too late to share, don’t you agree??

