iterm2 Tip: Guake-like!

Back in good old linux days, I used to use Guake terminal. The feature that I liked the most is the ability to launch a transparent terminal from the top of the screen. This enables running simple commands without having to go to another window/desktop. This definitely increased my productivity as a programmer!

Now that I have a Mac, I sort of was missing out on Guake! A couple of google searches yielded me to realise that the same behaviour is possible with iTerm2

Here’s how I did it:-

You can customise the settings for the “Hotkey Window” profile under the “Profiles” tab. To make it look like a Quake drop-down terminal, you can use similar “Window” preferences:

All in all, you will note some differences from Guake (if you have used it). It’s a good replacement.

Courtesy: http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/48796/iterm-as-a-slide-out-terminal-from-the-top-of-the-screen

Leave a Reply

